Skip to content ↓

Grange Park School

Learning for Life - Personalised Pathways for All

  • Font size
    A A A A
  • Background colour

Useful Links

There are many organisations that can provide useful information about autism.

 

Website Links:

 

Information about Autism

National Autistic Society: https://www.autism.org.uk/

Autistica: https://www.autistica.org.uk/

Ambitious About Autism: https://www.ambitiousaboutautism.org.uk/

Autism Speaks: www.autismspeaks.org 

Autism eye: www.autismeye.com 

A comic strip by Rebecca Burgess to help people understand the autism diagnosis: https://the-art-of-autism.com/understanding-the-spectrum-a-comic-strip-explanation/

The Curly Hair Project: https://thegirlwiththecurlyhair.co.uk/

Information leaflet on girls and autism: http://www.nasen.org.uk/resources/resources.girls-and-autism-flying-under-the-radar.html

Amazing things happen - A simple Youtube video explaining how people with autism may experience the world differently: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JdCY-cdgkI

Ella, along with two of her daughters, are all on the autism spectrum, receiving their diagnoses in 2015 and 2016 https://www.purpleella.com/

 

Information about associated conditions

Association For All Speech Impaired Children (AFASIC): www.afasic.org.uk

 

British Dyslexia Association: https://www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/

British Epilepsy Association: www.epilepsy.org.uk

British Institute of Learning disabilities: www.bild.org.uk

Dyspraxia Foundation: www.dyspraxiafoundation.org.uk

ICAN (helping children communicate): www.ican.org.uk

MENCAP (understanding learning difficulty): www.mencap.org.uk 

OCD action: https://ocdaction.org.uk‚Äč

OCD-UK: https://www.ocduk.org/

Selective Mutism Information and Research Association (SMIRA): http://www.selectivemutism.org.uk/ at the bottom of 'information about associated conditions'

 

Approaches used at Grange Park School

The SCERTS Model: http://scerts.com/

The Zones of Regulation: http://www.zonesofregulation.com/index.html

Interoception: kelly-mahler.com/resources/videos/interoception-the-new-topic-in-autism/

 

Legislation relating to Special Education Needs

Department of Health and Social Care: www.dh.gov.uk

SEND Code of Practice: https://www.gov.uk/topic/schools-colleges-childrens-services/special-educational-needs-disabilities

 

Mental health and wellbeing

Mental Health Foundation https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/

Kent Resilience Hub: https://kentresiliencehub.org.uk/parent-carers/

MindEd, e-learning to support healthy minds: www.minded.org.uk 

 

Online safety

National online safety: https://nationalonlinesafety.com/

 

Sibling support

Sibs: https://www.sibs.org.uk/

 

Support from other families

Contact a family: www.cafamily.org.uk  

 

Support around sleep

Children’s Sleep Charity: www.thechildrenssleepcharity.org.uk 

Sleep Scotland: www.sleepscotland.org

The Sleep Council: www.sleepcouncil.org.uk 

 

Information about Autism 

Kent Autistic Trust - http://www.kentautistic.com

Autism Education Trust - http://www.autismeducationtrust.org.uk

 

Family Support

BEAMS family support - http://www.wearebeams.org.uk 

 

Information about Special Educational Needs

IASK - information, advice and support Kent - http://www.kent.gov.uk/iask